Another One Bites the Dust

Friday was a sad day for me. I made my last trip to my local Borders Books. Was it due to crappy service? or poor selection? or a disorganized store? No, no and no. The stores in my area, including the one where I drink coffee, write and buy books and music are closing their doors forever. Blame it on the economy, the changing publishing industry, the death of print media, it matters not. What does matter is that I lost a great place to hang out and become more literate. What also matters is the level of treatment and service I received at Borders. Every employee bent over backwards to make sure they could help me. After we got to know each other, we became like family. One sales rep, upon learning I was a writer, always took the time to ask me what I was working on and where my work was being published. Right before he was laid off, he told me he wasn’t sad about losing his job, but rather about not being able to see my work carried in his store. Talk about being humbled. I wanted to crawl under a chair.

The important thing here is that this young man, and all the other sales associates in these stores knew what kept customers coming in the door. Call me old school, hell I’m a dinosaur. I still like the experience of stopping by a brick-and-mortar book store, sipping a coffee, browsing the isles, smelling the smells, hearing the sounds of real live book spines being cracked and maybe, just maybe, running into a fellow reader or writer who likes the same books I like, or has a story to share, or just wants to share a bitchin’ cup of coffee over a copy of Cemetary Dance or Ellery Queen Mysteries or Shroud Magazine.

So, if you’re tired of hearing me piss and moan, chime in. Let me know where you get your literary fix. I want real live brick and mortar book stores with shelves bulging with horror, hardboiled, crime, noir, mystery and dark fiction that you can pull off the shelf and sample like a fine wine. Better yet, one that carries books so cool you consume them like a quick shot and a beer. Murph wants to know!

©2011 Murphy Edwards

Leave a Reply

